Pasvik group foto for webEstablished in April 2011, the Marine Steering Group (MSG) of the Circumpolar Biodiversity Monitoring Program (CBMP) is responsible for the implementation of the Arctic Marine Biodiversity Monitoring Plan, the first of four pan-Arctic biodiversity monitoring plans developed by the CBMP to improve the detection and understanding of the causes of long-term change in the composition, structure and function of Arctic ecosystems.

The MSG is composed of one representative and an alternate from each Arctic marine nation as well as representatives from interested Permanent ParticipantsThe MSG can include other members (e.g., Arctic Council Working Group representatives) as appropriate.

Each representative on the MSG is responsible for ensuring that the monitoring program is implemented within their own nation, and therefore have close connections with the relevant agencies and experts within their countries. They will play a key role in providing direction to the evolving monitoring program as a whole. Together with the CBMP Office, the MSG will be responsible for the overall coordination and implementation of the monitoring program.

Current co-leads:  


MSG members

  • Iceland: Steinunn Hilma Ólafsdóttir, Marine and Freshwater Research Institute, co-Lead

  • Norway: Eirik Pettersen, Norwegian Environment Agency; alternate Dag Vongraven Norwegian Polar Institute, co-Lead

  • Russia: Vadim Mokievsky, P.P. Shirshov Institute of Oceanology Russian Academy of Sciences

  • Greenland: Thomas Juul Pedersen, alternate: Fernando Ugarte and Rikke Guldborg HansenGreenland Institute of Natural Resources

  • Canada: Amanda Winegardner and Alain Dupuis, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

  • United States: John BengtsonNational Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. AlternateCatherine CoonBureau of Ocean Energy Management, US

  • Faroe Islands: Jan Sørensen, Kaldback Marine Bio Lab

  • AMAP: Janet Pawlak, AMAP Secretariat

  • PAME: Elizabeth McLanahan,US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

  • CBMP Chairs: Tom Christensen, Aarhus University-Arctic Research Centre and Catherine CoonBureau of Ocean Energy Management 

  • CAFF: Kári Fannar Lárusson, CAFF Secretariat



Current co-leads:  

Arctic States

dk   ca   fi   is   no   ru   sw   usa

Permanent Participants

aac  raipon  icc   GCI Logo Vertical RGB 121x90  aia  saami_councile