Each of the six Arctic Council Indigenous Peoples' organizations assign representatives to the CAFF management board. Out of a total of four million inhabitants of the Arctic, approximately 500,000 are indigenous. Indigenous peoples' organizations have been granted Permanent Participant status in the Arctic Council. The Permanent Participants have full consultation rights in connection with the Council's negotiations and decisions. The Permanent Participants represent a unique feautre of the Arctic Council and make valuable contributions to its activities in all areas.

CAFF Permanent Participants small




Aleut International Association (AIA) 

Nadine Kochuten

Nadine Kochuten
Aleut Intentational Association
520 East 32nd Ave.
Anchorage, AK, United States 99503

Email Nadine Kochuten

Liza Mack e1500409008956 Liza Mack
Aleut Intentational Association
520 East 32nd Ave.
Anchorage, AK, United States 99503
Email Liza Mack

Arctic Athabaskan Council

 Chief Michael Stickman. Photo: IISD RS

Chief Michael Stickman
International Chair
Nulato Traditional Council
P.O. Box 65049
Nulato, Alaska 99765

Tel.: +1 907-898-2339
Fax: +1 907 898 2207
Email Chief Michael Stickman


Cindy Dickson 
Executive Director
300 Range Rd., PO Box 39
Whitehorse STN C S C
Whitehorse, Yukon
Y1A 5X9

Tel.: + 1 867 393 9214
Fax: 1 867 668 6577 
Email Cindy Dickson at the AAC 
AAC website

Gwich'in Council International

 Devlin Fernandes


Devlin Fernandes
Executive Director
1191 Front St #201A
Whitehorse, Yukon 
Y1A 0K5

Email GCI
GCI website

 Edward Alexander
Edward Alexander
Gwich'in Council International

Email Edward Alexander

Inuit Circumpolar Council

 Carolina Behe. Photo: IISD RS

Carolina Behe (HOD)
IK/Science Advisor
ICC Alaska
3000 C Street, Suite N201
Anchorage, Alaska
United States of America

Tel.: +1 907 274-9058
Fax: +1 907 274-3861
Email Carolina Behe
ICC Alaska website

Russian Association of Indigenous People of the North 

 Antonina Gorbunova  Antonina Gorbunova Mobile: +7-916-741-99-16

RAIPON Secretariat

Email RAIPON Secretariat

Saami Council 

 Gunn-Britt Retter. Photo: Bjarni Eiriksson



Tonje Johansen
Gunn-Britt Retter

Visiting address:
Fitnodatgeaidnu 13
9735  Karasjok

Postal adr:
Postboks 162 
9735 Karasjok

Tel: +47 994 90 344
Saami Council: +47 480 21 734

Email: Tonje
Email Gunn-Britt
Saami Council website

Niillas Beaska Beaska Niillas  Email: Beaska Niillas

Arctic States

dk   ca   fi   is   no   ru   sw   usa

Permanent Participants

aac  raipon  icc   GCI Logo Vertical RGB 121x90  aia  saami_councile